Tuesday, March 25, 2008

Monkey Business 7"


Monkey Business was a band from Seattle Washington in the early nineties. This 7" is from 1991 with a ska song on the a side with great sax playing, and a mod-rock b side that was noticeably influenced by the grunge sound from that time and place.

A - Mistakes
B - Keep on Walking


Friday, March 14, 2008

Los Rudiments - Terror in the Heartland 7"


Do not download this 7-inch. You will not like it. Unless you know Los Rudiments and like them already it is unlikely that you will appreciate this rare Dill Records release from 1995.

1 Terror in the Heartland
2 Blow Out
3 Land Shark (originally by Fang in 1983)


Sunday, March 9, 2008

Skavengers The [LINK RENEWED Aug.13, 2010]


Skavengers The was a 3 piece ska/rock band that started in 1979 in southern England. This 7" is from 1980 and is their only recording. Though there were only a limited number of these records made they received a good amount of radio exposure both locally and on National Radio 1 through the interest of such people as John Peel and Mike Reed.

PETE CHRISTIE (guitar and vocals) and CHRIS HAINES (bass and backing vocals) continued playing after the departure of drummer Dave Parsons as Red Square with Martin Evans on drums. They moved to London in 1984 but despite good reviews and some great live performances they were unable to get a record deal and the band ended in 1985.

Pete Christie is still recording music but has opted for an acoustic guitar and a more laid back sound and he still enlists the talents of Martin Evans on occasion.
Chris Haines is also still playing with various bands and has recorded with Fringe Benefit, Lick the Tins, Yeah, and Foodbug.

"Party Girls" is one of my all time favorite songs but since the disc is so rare I have been able to find only one copy over the years which is not in the best shape. I have improved the sound the best I could but it is still a bad quality transfer. Chris Haines has a much better version on his Myspace.

A - Party Girls
B1 - Go to Pieces
B2 - Happy


Sunday, March 2, 2008

Ocean 11 - The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly


I am going to assume that anyone who comes to this site already knows who Ocean 11 is so I shant write a description.
I have taken it upon myself to include 4 extra tracks that were not originally on this album.

1 Housewive's Choice
2 Confucius
3 Solid as a Rock
4 Freedom Sounds
5 Rules of Life
6 From Russia with Love
7 Rock Steady
8 Let's Start Again
9 Song for My Father
10 Can't Forget About You
11 Rockfort Rock


12 Ska-Go-Mambo
13 Take it Cheazy
14 Night of the Dragon
15 Be Thankful
16 Hong Kong Low Rider
17 Stone Boat
18 Cairo East part II
19 Miss Understanding
20 Skagasm
21 Stop That Train
22 The Best of Love



Ak Band - Pink Slippers 7"


This is the Ak Bands first recording from 1980. They were a British power pop trio who played a lot of 2Tone inspired ska with no horn section or keys. The first song here Pink Slippers is an up-tempo song about receiving a bad Christmas gift and the other song Skegaway has more of a Police sound to it.

side A - Pink Slippers
side B - Skegaway